Graduate Students

Anita Bateman

Student

anita.bateman@duke.edu

Anita N. Bateman is a seventh year PhD candidate in Art History who specializes in modern and contemporary African art and art of the African diaspora. Under the supervision of Professor Richard J. Powell, she is writing a dissertation entitled “Ethiopia in Focus: Photography, Nationalism,...

Full Profile »

Michael Becker

Student

michael.j.becker@duke.edu

My research explores enslaved people's politics and legal strategies in Jamaica between the 1780s and the abolition of slavery in 1834 through the use of slave and quarter sessions court records, plantation diaries and account books, and contemporaneous newspapers and correspondence. I have...

Full Profile »

Jared Clemons

Student

jared.clemons@duke.edu

Jared is PhD student primarily focused on Behavior and Identity and Race and Ethnic Politics. His research interests include better understanding Black political attitudes (outside of partisan affiliation) while exploring the social, economic and political issues that Black Americans conceive as...

Full Profile »

Jessica Covil

Student

jessica.covil@duke.edu

Jessica Covil is a third-year PhD student in English at Duke, where she is also working towards graduate certificates in African & African American Studies and Gender, Sexuality, & Feminist Studies. Her research currently focuses on literary representations of community, belonging, and “...

Full Profile »

Jonathan Henderson

Student

jonathan.henderson@duke.edu

Jonathan Henderson is a North Carolina-based multi-instrumentalist, composer, writer, producer, and educator. A PhD candidate in ethnomusicology at Duke University, Jonathan's academic research concerns how local musical traditions are transformed through recording studio practice and come to...

Full Profile »

Anastasia Karklina

Student

anastasia.karklina@duke.edu

Anastasia Kārkliņa is a Ph.D. candidate in the Graduate Program in Literature, with certificates in African-American studies and feminist theory. Anastasia's research and pedagogical interests include twentieth-century Black literature and cultural theory. She has taught undergraduate classes in...

Full Profile »

Ayanna Legros

Student

ayanna.legros@duke.edu

My research focuses on 20th century Haiti, social movements and technology. 

Alexis Ligon

Student

alexis.ligon@duke.edu

Alexis Ligon is a PhD student in Cultural Anthropology at Duke University whose multi-sited research spans the United States. Her research involves racial and aesthetic hierarchies, identity, politics of space, and critical race theory.

Karen Little

Student

karen.e.little@duke.edu

 

Karen Little is a PhD candidate in English and enrolled in the African and African American Studies graduate certificate program, as well. Her dissertation examines representations of black American property ownership in twentieth century US fiction and film, especially by black...

Full Profile »

Leann McLaren

Student

leann.mclaren@duke.edu

Leann Mclaren is a PhD student at Duke University where she studies behavior and identities, as well as race and ethnic politics. She is a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship recipient (NSF-GRFP) and an American Political Science Association (APSA) Minority Fellowship...

Full Profile »

Sasha Panaram

Student

sasha.panaram@duke.edu

Sasha Panaram is a PhD candidate in English at Duke University, where she studies conditions of belonging, creative expressions of loss, and enactments of fugitivity in black diasporic literature. Her dissertation explores fictional and critical renderings of the Middle Passage by black women in...

Full Profile »

Allison Raven

Student

allison.raven@duke.edu

I am a PhD student in my third year, interested in the intersections of race and education in the twentieth century. My project focuses on desegregation and resegregation in Austin, Texas. My primary adviser is Adriane Lentz-Smith, and committee members are Sarah Deutsch, Nancy MacLean, and...

Full Profile »

Lesa Redmond

Student

charlesa.redmond@duke.edu

I graduated with an A.B. degree in History from Princeton University in 2017. My senior thesis focused on Princeton University’s connection to slavery. I am excited to further this research while at Duke.  As a first year PhD candidate in the History department, I am focused on the history of...

Full Profile »

Jasmine Smith

Student

jasmine.smith1@duke.edu

Jasmine Smith is a Ph.D. student at Duke University where she studies behavior and identities, as well as race and ethnic politics. Her co-authored work has appeared in Politics, Groups, and Identities. She is also an American Political Science Association (APSA) Minority Fellowship...

Full Profile »

Joshua Strayhorn

Student

joshua.strayhorn@duke.edu

Greetings!

My name is Joshua Strayhorn. I am a doctoral student of history at Duke University. My research interests include 20th century African American history, specifically the Great Migration and its impact on the development of black communities. I am interested in how intraracial...

Full Profile »